PayPal redesign: A UX/UI Case study

Chepuri Ajay kumar
5 min readFeb 8, 2021

The importance of online payments has been increasing day by day for the past few years and it has been showing a great impact on people in their day-to-day life, making their things go easy in the field of online transactions. Due to this, the growth of online payment applications has increased gradually and become an important part of their day-to-day life.

What is Paypal?

Paypal is an American company operating an online payment system in the majority of countries that support online money transfers. The company operates as an online payment processor for online vendors and many other commercial users also. It is one of the famous services to exchange money via the internet, founded in 1999 and merged with Elon musk’s X.com in 2000 march.

Why did I decide to Redesign Paypal?

A few days back when I installed Paypal for my personal work, I found some issues with the application, and I’m confused with the flow where I started to get irritated to use the application, then I decided to cross-check my pain points in the application with some of my friends and asked them to install Paypal and use it for a week when they do online payments.

After interviewing them after a week, I found most of them faced the same issues which I faced, then I decided to redesign the application for a smooth flow to the user.

Redesign goals:-

  1. To achieve a user-friendly application.
  2. To achieve an effortless user flow.
  3. To achieve intuitiveness of the application.

The Challenge:-

When I decided to redesign Paypal the only challenge for me was to design and create a seamless application for the user to make their online payments easy and convenient.

Problems with the application:-

  1. The first and the foremost problem faced was with the tab bar of the app where it contains direct actions for making payments instead of showing the application features.
Paypal Tab bar (original design)

The above actions were given in the tab bar to make payments, but as per the interface guidelines, the tab bar should never contain any actions.

2. The second was with User profile, settings, notifications which were at the top of the screen.

User profile: The main defect in this user profile is the placeholder used, it took about a minute to find out the user profile while using it for the first time, and coming to settings it takes you to the same screen where the profile takes you.

Notifications:- When u installed the app this option is identified with a bell icon on the top left corner of the screen, with a notification to add the user bank and card details, this notification remains until and unless the user adds his bank details which is a quite irritating thing for the user and this option looks more like a suggestion for using the application.

3. The next problem was there is no option like a hamburger menu to know and see particular things like bank details and cards, to check the bank balance, and log out if needed immediately.

4. And the fourth problem faced was with adding money to the wallet which is quite a difficult task as it is not easily discoverable.

Interview Results:-

I interviewed a total of 12 members who were asked to use Paypal for a week and received 10 responses among them, where I filtered the most common and major pain points and started redesigning them.

Paypal redesign ( Interview Survey )

User Personas:-

WireFrames:-

After interviewing my Paypal users I made my wireframes by understanding their needs and pain points so that I was able to know some important features and prioritize them according to the user needs.

Paypal redesigned Wireframes

How I Redesigned Paypal

The applications launch with the splash screen and the next screen is a login screen which I designed to look attractive and playful to the user at the beginning itself so that the user feels to explore more in the app.

Then next to the app summary screen where I decided to focus mainly on the display of the users Paypal wallet balance which helps the user to take any action immediately for sending or requesting money to his account and also focused on the last transactions ( i.e., users last activity ) where I segregated them into all activity, sent, received so that user can easily go through his last transactions.

Then coming to the tab bar where now users can easily jump into the app features and explore the maximum options.

Coming to adding money into the Paypal wallet I gave add money option on the profile screen because it is quite a commonly used one by the users so that adding money can be identified easily.

And also a screen for the hamburger menu where the user can easily check his bank accounts, cards, and bank balance details.

High Fidelity Redesigned Screens:-

It was fun and interesting designing the hi-fi screens for the Paypal redesign as it was made easy by my wireframes.

Paypal Redesigned Screens

Conclusion:-

Redesigning this Paypal application was a good experience where I learned many new interesting things in UX/UI design which would help me improve my design skills further.

And yeah that's it for now coz it's a wrap!😉

Hope you enjoyed reading it with a smile, if yes please make some sound by clapping😀

All the feedback and suggestions are welcome..! 🤗

Thank you for your valuable time.

--

--